9 years ago

9 years ago today I was dragging myself out of bed, getting dressed and driving myself to my oncologist to get disconnected from my chemo pack for the last time.  6 months of Folfox had been given to me in hopes of mopping up any remaining cancer cells in my body.  I guess it worked.

Was the chemo hard?  Well, I worked through the whole thing, something not everyone can do but I guess I was lucky.  I think the chemo was only hard looking back after it was over.  When you’re in the middle of treatment you just plod along.  It was like having a mild flu every other week for the first three months.  But the flu got worse, other weird side affects popped up, and the porportion of good time versus bad shifted in the bad direction. 

But what choice did I had but to make the best of it and get thru it?  I had a beautiful 2 year old girl and my wife was pregnant with my son.  I really needed to stay alive!

When I was diagnosed with cancer, my wife and I were just about ready to start a home rennovation project to add a new room on to our house.  The cancer put the brakes on.  Did it make sense to rip our roof off and do all this construction at such an uncertain time?  My wife was pregnant with my son and we knew if we did not do it now, it likely would not happen.  I said F cancer, and we went on with the remodel.  And it worked out fine and even probably helped as a distraction.

I WAS NOT willing to let cancer change my plans.

So tomorrow night is New Years and I may just be celebrating a little more than the next guy.  Do you blame me?  HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!!!

2 thoughts on “9 years ago”

  1. Jon and Laura: Wow!. You make me realize that all problems can be managed…thank you, my dear nephew and niece for teaching me a wonderful lesson about CHANGE!!! xoxoxo…Aunt Connie

  2. WOW 9 years today….those were hard years for the Family. I remember how impressed I was with your and Laura’s toughness you both had to get this behind you. That may have saved your life. For sure it makes us realize how quickly things can change.

    Love,

    Dad

Leave a comment