Please not the children…

Well, the time has come that I’ve tried to keep out of my mind since I was diagnosed with FAP and colon cancer 10 years ago.  My 12 year old daughter, Skyler, will get her first colonoscopy and EGD on next Wednesday.  The reason for the scopes is to see if she is forming polyps and to determine if she has FAP.  This is all due to the fact that I do not test positive for any of the known genetic defects for FAP.  If she has polyps of a particular type then FAP will be confirmed.  No polyps and we scope again in a few years.

I really don’t want to put her through this but its better than not knowing.  So Tuesday she will do clear liquids and prep and Wednesday she will be sedated and scoped.  In my mind the only possible outcome is that they will find nothing.  I can’t grasp the thought of a polyp or two confirming she has FAP.  I just can’t go there.  I will deal with that if it happens but as far as I am concerned it won’t.  It can’t.  Because if she does have FAP, then that means I gave this to her and that will be very hard for me to deal with.

However, I will not go dark if that happens.  I will support her and educate her and teach her how to deal with this head on.   And if she is diagnosed with FAP, I hope that it will make her a better and stronger person as I feel it has with me.

I’m very impressed with her.  She’s really handling it like a real pro.  I keep asking her if she is good, if she wants to talk about it and she shrugs her shoulder and says “No, I’m fine.”  She’s really quite amazing in her strength.  I’m super impressed and I love her for it.

My son Jared is turning 10 soon and the doctor recommended scoping at 10.  He was not aware that Skyler and him would need to be monitored.  He does not like to talk about medical stuff so we try not to get into it with him.  However, we did feel it was necessary to now bring it up since we may scope him next year.  We thought this was a great opportunity to tell him and show him through Skyler’s experience so we did that last night while playing Uno.  He cried a little and asked a couple questions but all in all he handled it pretty well.

So a few deep breaths and we will move through the next week with our fingers crossed and will hope for the best but plan for the worst.

5 thoughts on “Please not the children…”

  1. I can truly empathize with you, when it involves our children it rips out our hearts. My boys were diagnosed at 12 & 16, my grandson at 10. I’ll never understand why children have to suffer. But they are very resilient. My youngest did very well after his colectomy and left the hospital earlier than expected. His doctor said it’s because they don’t know all that can happen and just go with what does. You’ll get them through this.

  2. Jon, you are so strong and such a wonderful example for Skyler and Jared…the kids will be fine because they have you and Laura, and that makes them very lucky, indeed. xo…Aunt Connie

  3. I inherited FAP from my father , I am glad he chose to have me, when I was a kid we went through a lot of tests, taking skin samples, blood samples etc to help in the study of FAP, we have always been proactive in staying on top of FAP, I gave 4 sisters who inherited it and 2 brothers who didn’t. We have all lead normal lives except for operations here and there but I don’t think any of us blame my dad for what we inherited, besides there could be worse things to have . Hang in there and do all you can to take care of you and your family no matter what the outcome is…

Leave a comment