Drip, drip, drip

I woke up this morning at 6 am. I felt lazy and sleepy but I knew if I was going to get a ride in, I needed to be on the bike by 6:30. I was moving slow, looking for excuses, and felt like i had a slight cold, party of me kept saying not to go but i told myself just get it done, go on an easy one…

This morning I was caught up in my head, feeling weak, most likely due to the fact that I was off to my oncologist for an iron infusion. Deep down, I know it’s a minor setback, but it’s still easy for me to feel less than whole because I need this at all.

So I’m on the ride and just thinking get it down! Don’t do an easy ride, so I head up my favorite trails to Top of the World, look at the ocean and then bomb the downhill.

I get back to the house feeling so much better and settled, ready to sit in an oncology office for 5 hours.

Glass half empty: the basic fact that my body needs this at all and I can’t maintain on my own. And the fact that basically I’m back in a chemo office getting a drip over 10 years after my colon cancer diagnosis.

Glass half full: I’m healthy and lucky I have the ability to be so active and this isn’t a big issue. I went two years without needing iron.

So I lay here in the chemo chair but it’s NOT chemo, just a little push to help my body be strong. Maybe I can go set some PR’S soon. 🙂

Leave a comment